Ym2000 PTO not going into 3rd

Post your questions or problems you are haviing with your Yanmar tractor here.

Moderator: Aaron

NathanM89
Volunteer Poster
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:38 pm

Ym2000 PTO not going into 3rd

Postby NathanM89 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:51 pm

Hey everyone got an issue with getting my PTO into 3rd I noticed it’s kinda tough getting it into 1st and 2nd but it will go but when you try to pull it back into 3rd it won’t let me get it past 2nd if you pull back hard enough it goes in between and acts like it’s in neutral any ideas on how to fix this issue. I’m new to owning one of these gems paid 1500 figured it was fair price since it ran and hardly and issues besides wiring on dash and lights.

Aaron
Site Administrator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Iowa Park, TX

Re: Ym2000 PTO not going into 3rd

Postby Aaron » Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:07 am

Sometimes you have to let out on the clutch while you apply gentle pressure to the shifter. If that does not work then I'm afraid you will just have to do a little exploratory surgery to see what is wrong.

Norm
Volunteer Poster
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:08 am
Location: Ft Lauderdale Fla./Trenton Ga.

Re: Ym2000 PTO not going into 3rd

Postby Norm » Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:05 pm

Why do you want to use PTO 3rd. gear? It has probably never been used before and parts are rusted/frozen. There are no implements that use 3rd gear unless you are churning rice paddies.

Aaron
Site Administrator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Iowa Park, TX

Re: Ym2000 PTO not going into 3rd

Postby Aaron » Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:35 am

Good point. Other than making powdered dirt with a (Yanmar) tiller there is not much reason to ever need 3rd gear on the PTO.

NathanM89
Volunteer Poster
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: Ym2000 PTO not going into 3rd

Postby NathanM89 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:55 pm

Thanks for the advice guys and yes I don’t need 3rd for any reason just wanted to just have things work as they should even though won’t need it


Return to “Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests