YM 2210B Valve Timing Off???

Post your questions or problems you are haviing with your Yanmar tractor here.

Moderator: Aaron

pxmntws
Volunteer Poster

YM 2210B Valve Timing Off???

Postby pxmntws » Mon Sep 19, 2016 12:05 am

I have a 2210B I have been using for about 2 years parked tractor in the evening, went next day to use and will not start. I knew I had a leaking head gasket but had never had a starting problems. I thought I had maybe burned a valve or something causing the starting problem so I removed the head to check, valves looked good, cylinder walls looked good no scratches. Head gasket was defiantly leaking so I put the tractor back together with new gasket, still will not start, I have bled fuel lines. When I crank it over I see diesel fumes coming out the exhaust, I removed the hose from the air cleaner and cranked it over and see fumes coming out of the intake port to. Question is it possible for camshaft to get of time, can't see why it was running OK when parked and will not even try to fire next day. Please advise, not sure what to do next.

Thank in advance.

Aaron
Site Administrator

Re: YM 2210B Valve Timing Off???

Postby Aaron » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:32 am

Question is it possible for camshaft to get of time,

No. not without removing the front cover of the engine and intentionally changing it.

can't see why it was running OK when parked and will not even try to fire next day

Did you set the valves when you put the head back on?

pxmntws
Volunteer Poster

Postby pxmntws » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:16 am

Yes went over first time set .005" and second time .008" just to make sure valves were closing. Adjusted at TDC compression stroke on both cylinders.

Aaron
Site Administrator

Postby Aaron » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:36 am

Adjusted at TDC compression stroke on both cylinders.

Not exactly sure what that means but just to be sure set them like the instructions below
http://www.hoyetractor.com/valve-set.htm